Rothesay Herald

The Court of the Lord Lyon
Scotland’s Heraldic Authority
©Court of the Lord Lyon MMXX twitter Twitter email Facebook

Liam Devlin

Armorial Bearings of Liam Devlin

HM Rothesay Herald

Vert, on a chevron Or a fleur-de-lys in the Florentine style of the First, on a chief of the Second the heads of three Celtic cross of the First. For crest: A demi-lion Vert holding in its dexter paw two organ pipes Proper in saltire.
The title of Rothesay Herald was created after 1398 when the Dukedom of Rothesay, the first Dukedom in Scotland, was created by Robert III for his son, David, as heir to the throne. The Duke of Rothesay continues to this day as the Scottish title for the heir to the throne, known otherwise as the Prince of Wales. The herald’s badge was designed by Sir Thomas Innes of Learney in 1952.
Liam Devlin was previously appointed Linlithgow Pursuivant Extraordinary in 2014 and advanced to Unicorn Pursuivant in 2016 before being appointed Rothesay Herald in 2021. A Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries of Scotland and a Fellow of the Royal Society for the Arts, he is a professional musician and teacher, having taught at the Universities of Glasgow and Edinburgh, the former Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama and St Aloysius’ College. He is on the boards of several charities, including Scotland’s Churches Trust and Children’s Classic Concerts, is a burgess of the City of Edinburgh and a former Deacon of the Incorporation of Cordiners in Glasgow.

Rothesay Heralds since 1455

1479 Anon. 1507 Anon Banelee 1533 Robert Hart 1557 Sir David Lindsay of Rathillet 1568 John Forman 1574 Florens Douglas 1597 James Borthwick 1607 William Craig 1633 John Spence of Wormiston 1661 James Ewing 1667 Hierome Spence of Brunstane 1633 William Glover
1697 Walter Melville 1718 David Erskine 1724 George Glass 1746 John Brodie 1753 George Brodie 1790 William Douglas 1804 Robert Dick 1822 James Lorimer of Kellyfield 1879 Sir James William Mitchell of Westshore, Baronet 1898 Sir Francis James Grant 1929 Sir John Mackintosh Norman MacLeod of Fuinary, Baronet 1939 Lt-Col. Harold Andrew Balvaird Lawson CVO 1986 Sir Crispin Agnew of Lochnaw, Baronet, LVO QC 2021 Liam Devlin
©Court of the Lord Lyon MMXXI