Carrick Pursuivant

The Court of the Lord Lyon
Scotland’s Heraldic Authority

George Way of Plean

Armorial Bearings of George Way of Plean

Carrick Pursuivant

Quarterly 1st and 4th Azure three luces haurient Argent in chief and an anchor with the crossbar supporting a pair of balances Or in base (for Way of Plean); 2nd Grand-quarterly the Arms of Romilly Squire 3rd per fess enarched Gules and Or, in chief two Chinese lotus flowers Argent and in base an open crown of the First (for Gauld).
The title of this pursuivancy is derived from that of the Earldom of Carrick, held by Robert the Bruce before his accession. The badge was designed by Sir Thomas Innes of Learney.
Sheriff in the Sheriffdom of Tayside, Central and Fife since 2009, George Way of Plean holds the Queen’s Golden Jubilee Medal of 2002, and is a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries of Scotland. He was Secretary to the Standing Council of Scottish Clan Chiefs 1985-2003, appointed Solicitor Advocate 2003, President of the Society of Solicitors to the Courts 2002- 2005, and Procurator Fiscal to the Lyon Court 2003-2010. In 2017, he published the revised edition of the Clan Encyclopedia, edited with the aid of the late Romilly Squire. He became an Officer of the Venerable Order of St John in 2018 and in July 2021 was appointed Genealogist of the Scottish Priory. He is also a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts, Chancellor of the Diocese of Brechin (Scottish Episcopal Church) and a Member of the Scottish Civil Justice Council.

Carrick Pursuivants since 1364

1364 John Trupour 1478 Anon. 1526 James Anderson 1531 James Wallace 1538 John Paterson 1557 Alexander Forrester 1582 Robert Campbell 1617 James Cunningham 1622 Alexander Neilson 1633 John Spence of Brunstane 1633 Gideon Weir 1637 John Sawers 1661 Thomas Allan 1672 Willian Glover 1672 Robert Glover 1678 John Young 1679 Patrick Wilson 1699 Harry Armstrong 1706 Robert Brown 1747 George Brodie 1753 William Douglas 1771 Malcolm Grant
1790 John Grieve 1818 John Young 1827 James Gillon 1833 William Anderson 1836 William Dunnett 1855 Henry Wilson 1864 Archibald Thornburn 1879 Sir James William Mitchell, Bart. . 1879 John Spence 1883 John Grant 1884 William Macfarlane Wylie 1886 Sir Francis James Grant 1898 William Rae Macdonald 1907 Sir Duncan Alexander Dundas Campbell, Bart 1926 Sir Thomas Innes of Learney 1935 Sir Alexander Hay Seton, Bart. 1939 Alexander James Stevenson 1946 Sir James Monteith Grant 1958 Sir Malcolm Innes of Edingight 1972 David John Wilson Reid of Robertland 1974 John Alexander Spens 1992 Elizabeth Ann Roads 2017 Sheriff George Way of Plean
©Court of the Lord Lyon MMXXI