Albany Herald Extraordinary

The Court of the Lord Lyon
Scotland’s Heraldic Authority
Albany Herald is first mentioned as being on a diplomatic mission to England in 1401. The office was instituted following the creation of Robert Stewart as Duke of Albany by his father, King Robert III, in 1398. The badge was designed by Sir Thomas Innes of Learney.

Sir Crispin Agnew of Lochnaw Bart. LVO QC

Armorial Bearings of Sir Crispin Agnew of Lochnaw Bart LVO QC

Chief of the Name and Arms of Agnew

Albany Herald Extraordinary

Argent, a chevron between two cinquefoils in chief Gules and a saltire couped in base Azure. Above the shield, from which is pendent by an orange-tawny riband the Badge of a Baronet of Nova Scotia, is placed a Chapeau Azure furred Ermine, and thereon an Helm befitting his degree with a Mantling Gules doubled Argent, and on a Wreath of the Liveries is set for Crest an eagle issuant and reguardant Proper, and in an Escrol over the same this Motto: “CONSILIO NON IMPETU”. On a Compartment below the Shield are set for Supporters two heraldic tygers Proper, collared and chained Or. This coat of arms with the chevron first appears on the seal of Quentin Agnew of Lochnaw c 1487, previous versions having been recorded featuring three hands in the Hague Armorial Roll (c 1590) and Sir George Mackenzie’s “Science of Herauldry” (1680).
Sir Crispin Agnew was appointed Albany Herald Extraordinary in 2021, having been Rothesay Herald since 1986, and previously Unicorn Pursuivant from 1981. He is the Chief of Clan Agnew and the eleventh holder of the baronetcy of Agnew of Lochnaw in the Baronetage of Nova Scotia. Sir Crispin was an advocate, specialising in rural property, environmental and public law. He was called to the bar in 1982, took silk in 1995 and went non- practising in 2020. His particular interest in succession to arms has involved him in many complex peerage cases over the last thirty years. He is now an Honorary Research Fellow with the University of Dundee. Sir Crispin was created a Lieutenant of the Royal Victorian Order in the Birthday Honours 2021.

Albany Heralds since 1452

1452 William Bailly 1516 William Brown of Balmangan 1546 William Brown 1558 John Balfour 1565 Alexander Oliphant 1604 Thomas Oliphant 1608 George Kirkwood 1613 Robert Windram 1637 Gideon Weir 1661 James Lockhart 1677 George Ogilvie 1694 James Barr 1723 Robert Leslie 1726 Sir John Erskine of Cambo, Bart. 1754 Humphrey Harrison 1766 John Man
1768 John Douglas 1795 James Mitchell 1827 John Young 1837 David Littlejohn 1859 James Sinclair 1883 John Spence of Brunstane 1885 Robert Spence Livingstone 1909 William Rae Macdonald 1923 Sir George Sitwell Campbell-Swinton 1927 Sir Thomas Wolseley Haig 1935 Thomas Innes of Learney 1945 Sir Francis James Grant 1953 Major Charles Ian Fraser of Reilig 1961 Sir Iain Moncreiffe of that Ilk, Bart. 1985 John Alexander Spens 2021 Sir Crispin Agnew of Lochnaw Bart., LVO, QC [Extraordinary]
©Court of the Lord Lyon MMXXI